Yesterday I went to my “study abroad in-person orientation.”  My program starts in London on May 19th! This was the last step in the process to prepare for study abroad; you can read about the online application in my first post.

The email that I received from the Learning Abroad Center said the meeting would go from 2:30-5:00, so I wasn’t really looking forward to it, but it actually was really beneficial.  Everyone there was also going to London in the summer.  Of course we started with a “get to know you” game, and as terrible as those usually are, at least we loosened up a little bit, and we got to know the people that we will be spending 2 months with in a foreign country.

We also took a “how much do you know about the UK” quiz, and apparently I don’t know anything about the it –their Prime Minister (Gordon Brown), their type of governmental system (constitutional monarchy), and that Eric Clapton is a citizen.

One thing that I was not excited to learn about was the packing restrictions.  Zach Mohs (the go-to guy for the London Study Abroad and Internship program) suggests 3 pairs of pants, 6 shirts, 2 sweaters, 1 nice outfit, 7 pairs of socks and underwear, 1 nice pair of shoes, 1 pair of comfortable walking shoes, 1 jacket + scarf, hat and gloves, and 1 swim suit/towel/beach sandals.  Odds that I will pack only those things: 0%.  Odds that I will not have enough room in my suitcase and will have to ship clothes home at the end of the trip: 98%.

Although I think their idea of what clothes to bring is a little skewed, I am definitely glad they told me that I will need a converter and adapter for the plug-ins.  That is something I just wouldn’t remember packing, and my hair would suffer the consequences.

I also didn’t realize all the things I get included in my trip.  I get one trip to Bath and Stonehenge, 40 pounds a week for food, and a rail pass to take me anywhere in the city I want to go!  This meeting only made me more excited and anxious for my trip.  Stay tuned for further updates and info!

