Think touring the world and blogging about it would make one heck of an internship? Our very own Katie Hollimon couldn’t agree more, and now she’s one of STA Travel’s top twenty World Traveler Intern aspirants, competing very publicly for one of two intern positions. She’s got a passion for travel, loves taking pictures, and enjoys running (it can’t hurt that she’s a track star!). Her homemade video application has already outperformed more than 350 others, but she will need to beat out another 10 applicants before advancing to the next round April 6th. Vote for her vid and you could be watching her learn to surf in Australia, get buddy-buddy with Egyptologists in Cairo, and so much more. Here Katie writes about the opportunity, and our favorite topic, TRAVEL!

A: How did you learn about the STA internship and how did you know it was for you?

K: I heard rumblings about the STA World Traveler Internship (WTI) over the last couple of years, but much like finding a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow, I thought it was too good to be true. Regardless, I became a fan of STA on Facebook and found out that this internship does exist. I knew it was for me when I read the responsibilities of the job, and of course from reading and seeing blogs/pictures/videos from past interns. I’ve never looked for the “perfect job,” but I knew I found it once I saw the WTI website.

A: Do you have any plans to become a world traveler by profession?

K: Definitely. That’s one of the main reasons I applied for this position. I, like many others, view an internship as a way to “get one foot in the door” for a particular profession. However, I view this internship as a way to break the door down into the world traveling profession.

If I am fortunate enough to be selected as one of the two interns, I look forward to potential opportunities to continue working with STA. If that is not an option, I would also look into opportunities with MTV, but more directly mtvU since they are partnering with STA for the WTI this year. I would also use this internship to platform myself and look into working with The Discovery Channel and The Travel Channel in hopes to aspire to be the next Samantha Brown, but with my own flare.

A: You write, you take pictures, you edit film—are these all skills the modern day traveler should have?

K: Absolutely! I’m not saying you have to write a novel, work for National Geographic, or be the next James Cameron. I’m saying to do all of the above, even if it’s for your personal entertainment. I personally look through different traveling pictures and videos once a week. I know that’s not normal but that’s probably why I’m looking to travel the world as a profession! I’m no travel guru but I highly recommend everyone write in a journal during travels too. I don’t care if it’s a bullet point about where your favorite gelato was in Italy it will be something you will want to have when you return.

A: Have you ever studied abroad?

K: No, I was on the track team for the last four years so I was dedicated to my team, and nursing through injuries. However, I made as much room as possible to get out and travel.

A: Where have you traveled?

K: I’ve been to thirteen countries ranging from islands in and around the Caribbean, Costa Rica, and Europe. Along with those awesome worldly experiences I’ve been to 20 states throughout the US.

A: How have your travels made you who you are?

K: My travels have helped shape me as a person in many ways. Each city has had some sort of impact on me, and I think that’s true for most people. For example, after visiting Paris my appreciation for history went from a casual liking to actually taking history classes for a lot of my electives. I could honestly write a book trying to show more examples so I will leave you with one. In short, it doesn’t matter if you’ve traveled to one city in the US, just get out of your comfort zone, travel somewhere, and I guarantee it will shape you as a person in some way. Whether it be finding a new style of food you like, or you deciding you want to volunteer in a different area, it will be worth it.

A: Anything else you’d like to share with us?

K: I’d just like to thank you for your time and reaching out to interview me after seeing my application. Of course, I want to thank STA again for creating this amazing opportunity. Also, I would like to include the link to my application in case anyone would like to vote and help a fellow Gopher become one of the next World Traveler Interns!

