I hate to say it, but this Facebook thing actually has some good.   And I don’t mean good as in I know now this guy I friended is a creeper, but actual potential for sharing stories.  With this handy little internet jem I got the chance to talk to a few of my friends about their time spent abroad.  My friend Lauren, a senior at the U of M, and I talked all about her experience when she studied in Spain.

 

 

Jaynie

What was the most fun thing you did while you were abroad?

Lauren

I would probably have to say renting mopeds in San Sebastian, Spain and riding them for hours throughout the Pyrenees Mountains.

Jaynie

Did you spend most of your time with friends you met there or friends you knew before?

Lauren

I spent almost all my time, literally hours every day, with Stephanie. We traveled with one girl named Elli we met there, but I was always with someone I knew from back home.

Jaynie

Did you plan to go abroad together, or did that just happen?

Lauren

We met and became really good friends because we knew we were going to be in the same study abroad program.

Jaynie

Did you travel outside of Spain?

Lauren

Yup! I traveled to Portugal, France, England, and Italy. I had been to all those places before on separate trips, except Portugal.

Jaynie

Which country was your favorite to visit?

Lauren

I honestly couldn’t choose, they all had amazing experiences. I would probably say I liked France the least though.

Jaynie

Haha, why is that?

Lauren

Well that was my third time there and I mean Paris is obviously amazing but the people are definitely not as friendly as other places. Also it was very touristy when we went, prime tourist season.

Jaynie

You said you have been to all these countries before, when and why did you visit them?

Lauren

I had been to England before just for a vacation when I was in 5th grade. I went my junior high school spring break with my family to France and Italy. And my Freshman college spring break I went with Katie Mo to visit her brother studying abroad in Paris.

Jaynie

But it was your first time in Portugal right? What was your first experience like? Was it how you thought it would be?

Lauren

It was amazing! Portugal had the friendliest people, the cleanest environment, and was the easiest to navigate because every one spoke English.

Jaynie

Was it difficult to decide if you wanted to study abroad and where?

Lauren

No, because I live so close to the U. I knew that when I decided to go here I wanted to at least go far away for a semester and study abroad. I’m a global studies major too, so it’s required.

Jaynie

Were you financially worried?

Because it’s expensive right?

Lauren

Yes, its super expensive but i planned ahead and saved up a lot and kind of had the “deal with later” attitude.

