My friend Aly has been to England three times in the last three years.  That makes her much more of an expert in the ways of England than I am, which is why I decided to ask her a few questions.  If you are planning on studying in London and want to immerse yourself in the culture, Aly can give you a few tips on how to make that happen.

Jaynie

Where have you visited in Europe?

Alyssa

England.

Jaynie

How many times have you visited there?

Alyssa

I have visited there three times in the past three years.

Jaynie

What were your reasons for visiting?

Alyssa

Sex, drugs, and rock and roll.

Just kidding!

Alyssa

I visited my fiance’s family in Bristol, England and toured London.

Alyssa

I am a big fan of English culture so the food, beer, fashion, and the old buildings were my favorite parts. The highlight was probably going to the Manchester United soccer stadium or the open bus tour in London.  But mostly Blackthorn Cider changed my life.

Jaynie

What is Blackthorn Cider?

Alyssa

It tastes like cold apple cider that comes out of tap like beer but its delicious. It is fairly strong and incredible tasting. I think they only have Strongbow or Wagners cider in London.

Jaynie

Other than the food, were there any cultural differences that stood out to you?

Alyssa

Soccer is huge. “Football” jerseys as fashion are sold almost anywhere and people are sooo passionate about it, both men and women. People seem to be more polite, especially female, and they will call you “my love” or “my sweet.” People are awesome and fashion is more chic.

Jaynie

What would you say would be the most fun bar to go to in London?

Alyssa

I don’t have much experience with that. We went to pubs more so than “bars or clubs”.. Because of Craig’s kids, we spent far more time in Bristol than in London. I’d say they’re all a blast though!

Jaynie

What is your favorite meal you had while you were there?

Alyssa

They have really good Chinese food and Curry. I am vegetarian but I would say the best thing I had there is chips from The Fish and Chips Shop with a side of curry sauce. Chips and curry. Yum.

Jaynie

Did anything super awkward or interesting happen while you were there?

Alyssa

Certain places in Bristol asked for my actual passport to order a drink because an American drivers license wasn’t good enough. Granted I do look young, but I would never carry my passport to a bar… so I said goodbye to that pub.

Jaynie

Did you see anyone famous while you were over there?

Alyssa

A few players from the football club Manchester United but I left my celebrity famous person detector in America sooo I didn’t see too many.

Jaynie

Any last things?

Alyssa

If you are a chocolate fan Double Decker. Twirl. Flake. You will die a little inside. Trust and believe I am not vegan when I go to England because I run a train on the chocolate.

Jaynie

Thanks Al!

Alyssa

No prob. Oh and save money!

