Nothing dies in the Kilimanjaro region of Tanzania, according to my co-worker Pricilla. “It’s spring and fall all year long. Everything is always green.” Melons, strawberries, and an abundance of other fruits grow in her family garden year round and she ate them all to her heart’s content.

Sound like heaven?

It did to me, so I decided to make a traditional Tanzanian fruit pie. The recipe calls for your favorite combination of papaya, guava, pineapple, orange, apricot and melon.

I used organic fruits—they have a slightly different taste than conventional ones. Pricilla said that when she first came to America, she couldn’t eat any fruit unless it was organic. “They don’t taste as sweet or as good.” I chose pineapples, oranges, and apricot nectar to make my pie since these ingredients are sold locally. I’m no desert connoisseur so I won’t do the pie injustice by trying to explain its taste, but what I will say is that in the mid-February Minnesota cold, the first slice was absolute summer.

